Sarah Hall was born in Cumbria in 1974. She is the prize-winning author of five novels – Haweswater, The Electric Michelangelo, The Carhullan Army, How to Paint a Dead Man and The Wolf Border – which have won numerous awards including the Commonwealth Writers Prize, the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize, and two Man Booker Prize nominations. Hall’s first story collection, The Beautiful Indifference, won the Portico Prize and the Edge Hill prize, and was shortlisted for the Frank O’Connor Prize. The first story in the collection, ‘Butchers Perfume’, was shortlisted for the BBC National Short Story Award. She won the BBC National Short Story Award with the story that opens Madame Zero, ‘Mrs Fox’ and was named one of Granta’s Best Young British Novelists the same year. Most recently, Hall edited the Faber anthology Sex & Death. She is a fellow at the Royal Society of Literature.

Further reading

Read: Mrs Fox in Toast

Review: Madame Zero in Independent

Discover more:

Resource: BBC National Short Story Award shortlist

Writing prompt: From today we’ll be posting visual prompts. It might be helpful to begin with a caption.